Do Unto Others: A Lost Piece of Our Soul

Be a reflection of what you’d like to see in others! If you want love, give love, if you want honesty, give honesty, if you want respect, give respect. You get in return what you give!——Unknown

Helping-Others-Shoes[1]

I used to believe most persons knew and tried to live the Golden Rule. I’m not even sure where I learned it but, to this day I know it by heart, it’s meaning and application in life. And I try my best to live it each and every day knowing in my soul when I am successful and when I am not. Therefore, I would say the golden rule it resonates within me.

I love the news stories that capture people all over the world involved in beautiful acts of kindness. There are newspaper articles and social media sites dedicated to acts of kindness as well. But, the ones I capture with my own eyes in everyday living really touch me in deep and profound ways. These are not heroic feats that sometimes require a superhero cape, a batmobile, or even superpowers. They are feats of compassion that arise from understanding that we are all connected, to love and be loved. Acts of kindness like offering a tissue to wipe away someone’s tears, comforting someone going through a difficult time, letting someone go ahead of you in a line, a new parent or someone elderly or disabled or just someone.  It is telling the mother with the unsettled child that one day when the child is grown, those unsettled traits will be redefined as assertive, determined and confident. Watch as that mother’s despair turns into the brightest and warmest smile making your heart smile as well. It is putting others before yourself and having the courage, strength and passion to believe they are worthy individuals walking a path just like you. With purpose. It takes courage to challenge our own views and see each situation in a different more positive way.

Is the golden Rule being lost in todays evolving society. The fact that acts of kindness are newsworthy is perplexing to say the least. There seems to be an invisible measuring device out there by which we decide who is worthy and who is not. Is it no longer just a part of who we are at our basic human soul level. I hope our egos have not grown so large that our entire beings become encased, blocking the light and goodness within each and every one of us. Dr. Seuss’s The Grinch comes to mind. I hope all our hearts grow three sizes each and every day filling every bit of heart space and spilling over into thoughts and actions.  Mostly, I hope it broadens the smiles and enhances the lives of those receiving the gift of the Golden Rule, Do Unto Others. Reclaim the lost piece of the soul. Grow your heart. Grow your soul. It is your divine right to love and be loved.

Speak Your Truth. Whispering No Longer Serves You

