The Bucket List

IMG_1800

The bucket list has become known due in part to the movie written by Justin Zackham and directed by Rob Reiner along with actors Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman. The movie was wonderful, emotional and somehow touched something deep inside everyone of us. It got us thinking deeply on the soul level about what we value in this life, what is important on our journey, what fulfills us, what do we desire, what makes us feel whole and complete. What must we do in this this lifetime, see, hear, experience, so that our journey feels whole and we are ready to let go and move on.

As we age and realize time forward is shorter than our journey past, the bucket list looms ever more prominent in our lives. Each list a personal experience and longing, just as unique as ourselves, our yearning calls out to us , beckoning, first a whisper, then a shout.  Twice before in my lifetime I have had the opportunity to cross one item off my own bucket list. Like many others, time commitments, money, putting others needs before my own or downplaying my desires as unimportant, put my  bucket list on the backburner, gently simmering away, gently forgotten. Recently, the opportunity arose again, and this time I grabbed it with full force, made it happen, didn’t give credence to all the little insignificant details, put myself and my needs first. I am happy and excited, overjoyed, grateful that the opportunity never gave up on me when I thought it would never happen. Amazed at how the Universe conspires to grant our desires and fulfill the calling of our soul.

Our bucket lists are important and significant, longing to be fulfilled over our lifetime, not just as we enter the third act of our lives. We need only stop, quiet the mind, breathe and listen. Your bucket list may start to take form and shape through the books you read, the music you listen to, the movies you watch, or maybe there is a deep knowing inside of yourself. You may long to write a love letter to someone long forgotten. You may travel thousands of miles to see something imprinted in your being. You may explore a place that haunts your dreams. How often have you heard the phrase, “Oh, I have always wanted to see that, do that, go there, can’t right now. How often are we hearing, “I wish I would have.” Bucket list completions bring you closer to home fulfilled, changed in significant ways that have meaning only to you. There is an inside knowing that this was meant to be, a sacred experience of your journey fulfilled. I no longer question the need or desire for a bucket list, I only know it is important to fulfill in ways beyond my human understanding. I am drawn like the threads of the Universe that bind us all, plucking the strings ever so softly, creating vibrations that speak to the notes written on my soul, telling the story of me. My life short, my heart young, my soul eternal.

“You are not too old and it is not too late to dive into your increasing depths where life calmly gives out it’s own secret.” – Rainer Maria Rilke

 

 

 

 

Speak Your Truth. Whispering No Longer Serves You

