Where Are You Going


Where are you going? I am going outside. What are you doing? I am playing ball. When will you be home? For lunch.

Where are you going? I am going to school. What are you doing? I am learning. When will you be home? Around 4:00.

Where are you going? I am going out with my friends. What are you doing? I am just hanging out. When will you be home? Before midnight.

Where are you going? I am going to look for an apartment. What are you doing? Moving out and in with some friends. When will you be home? In a couple of weeks.

Where are you going? I am going out with the love of my life. What are you doing? Planning a wedding. When will you be home? In a few months.

Where are you going? I am going house hunting. What are you doing. Starting a family.  When will you be home?  This is no longer my home.

Where are you going? I am going to the nursery. What are you doing? Cradling the baby in my arms. When will you visit? I am not sure.

Where are you going? I am going to start the car. What are you doing? Taking the kids to their lessons. What time will you be home? Around supper.

Where are you going?  I am going to work. What are you doing? Trying to pay the bills and save for a rainy day. When will you be home?  Late tonight.

Where  are you going? I am going to buy new dress clothes. What are you doing?  Watching my children get married. When will you be home? After I have celebrated,said my goodbyes and wished them well.

Where are you going. I am going to the dry cleaners. What are you doing? I am picking up my suit. When will you be home? When I am done grieving for those who gave me life.

Where are you going? I am going to buy a plane ticket. What are you doing? I am visiting my grandchildren. When will you be home?  In a blink of an eye.

Where are you going? I am going home. What are you doing? I am dying. When will you be home? Only God knows.

Where are you going? I am going to be born. What are you doing? Living life, learning lessons, growing, seeking my purpose. When will you be home?  When I have learned my lessons, loved, lost and cried tears of sorrow. When I become all I was meant to be. Finally, when I have let go.

Where are you going? To begin again.

 

The spaces between each “short” paragraph are to give pause for reflection. These are the spaces of time we are given to come to know ourselves, our purpose, the calling of our soul. In these spaces are opportunities to hear our breath, feel our heartbeat, connect with our thoughts. To calm the desires of others and light with passion the fires that lie deep within us. To live with love, compassion and empathy. The spaces shorter than the paragraphs depict the unbalance in our lives. Strive to make them equal. The balance between you and others. Life and living. Begin again. Ask yourself, where are you going? The answers lie within your soul.

3 thoughts on “Where Are You Going

Speak Your Truth. Whispering No Longer Serves You

